Kaboom at Hornady Plant

• http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ce2_1466370058

http://www.theindependent.com/news/local/hornady-president-maintains-weekend-incident-was-a-fire-not-an/article_e8ad4d86-376c-11e6-833c-b3bb077ae095.html

Hornady said Monday that the incident was not an explosion.
    “There was no explosion. There was a fire,” he said. “There’s a big difference.”

I'm not an expert in such things, but if someone asked me to identify what happened, I would say "It was an explosion."

A "fire" doesn't tend to throw a shipping container out into the street.

57672a05a0057.image.jpg

• That'll be one expensive "fire", guess that's why you don't bring your 4th of July fireworks to work when you work at Hornady :joy:

• Never even heard about this.

Though I tend to agree it wasn't an explosions, since it was powder that was in the container, and powder doesn't explode (black powder does and that's why it's hard to get

If the rear doors burst open, I would think depending on how big the fire was it could generate enough thrust to move the container.

I bet they'll do something to make the powder inert in the future.

And I would guess static was the cause.

• I have no patience for semantics.

If your car tire is over-inflated, the "pressure release" is typically referred to as an EXPLOSION.

• @orkan considering that semantics here is playing a role in how easily we get to access powder, I do have patience for it.

• If they are throwing away that much powder maybe I need to get a job cleaning out the machines at Hornady. Looked like several hundred pounds of powder in that shipping container.

• @rhyno said:

@orkan considering that semantics here is playing a role in how easily we get to access powder.