Need headlamp advise.

• What are some good dependable headlamps? I been reading reviews on the black diamond spot and it seems to be good to go. Im new to headlamps.

• @steelbanger

What kind of price range?

Is weight an issue?

Do you want rechargeable?

What kind of Lumens are you looking for?

Do you need a red light for night/map use?

I have one that I use around the house and have taken hiking a few times...but it is heavier than most. It is the surefire maximus. It is 500 lumens infinitely adjustable. It is built like a tank (solid aluminum) and has the surefire warranty behind it. Battery lasts much longer than I thought it would and charges up quickly. It comes with wall charger and car charger.

If you are looking for a lamp for ultralight hiking however you will want something else.

• @dddoo7 said:

@steelbanger

What kind of price range?

Is weight an issue?

Do you want rechargeable?

What kind of Lumens are you looking for?

Do you need a red light for night/map use?

I have one that I use around the house and have taken hiking a few times...but it is heavier than most. It is the surefire maximus. It is 500 lumens infinitely adjustable. It is built like a tank (solid aluminum) and has the surefire warranty behind it. Battery lasts much longer than I thought it would and charges up quickly. It comes with wall charger and car charger.

If you are looking for a lamp for ultralight hiking however you will want something else.

I've tried some in the $30-40 range. I've had ones that clip on to baseball hats that were powered by nickel sized batteries. Never could get the light where I wanted it to go. I got another that had a band around my head made by BP. Well it was cheesy.

I take a Nebo 190-200 lumens flashlight that runs on a. AA battery. They're about $20 and I think they're pretty good value for that price. I take an extra battery and I always get back to camp.